The “Daddy Book”

18 Aug

When Daddy (or Mommy!) is in the military, there will undoubtedly be times when they are away from their little ones. There are a variety of ways that you can help keep the absent parent in your child’s thoughts, and in many cases this can be very comforting to even very young children. One of the things that we use with our toddler is the “Daddy Book”. It’s a relatively sturdy mini-book that he can take everywhere with him, and because they’re so cheaply and easily made, I don’t worry when he finally loves one to death!

First, I use Microsoft Word to design my document. I move margins to “Narrow” and then insert a table. I adjust the table’s cell sizes to 3 x 4 (portrait) and the cell alignment to Middle Center. Then I just use the “Insert Picture” feature to insert pictures of my husband. I can crop the pictures in MS Word if I need to, or I can re-size them (usually to 2.75 x 3.75 or similar). Then, print. You should get two rows and two columns on each page.

You can see that I also printed a cover.

Once that’s done, trim them into rows so that you have two per row.

Then, use a thin layer of rubber cement to affix the rows to other rows. If your printer actually does duplexing without getting them all crooked, you could do it that way, but mine doesn’t!

For the cover, I just wrapped it in clear Contact paper and trimmed around the edges, leaving about 1/8″ from the edge of the paper. Then stack them all together.

Finally, staple. If you have a long-arm stapler (which I don’t!), you could staple them in the middle. Otherwise, you can just do them like I have.

Ta-da! Easy, fast, and a great way to help the kids feel better when Daddy’s away. Gabe asks for his “Daddy Book” before bed, at naptimes, and whenever we get ready to leave the house!

Leave a Reply

