Quick Update

14 Aug

Has it really been so long since I’ve blogged? Sheesh! Hopefully you’ll all excuse the interruption in my totally irregular but fabulous blogging, as we’ve been settling in to our new home here in San Antonio!

So first, a few updates:

  1. The move went well. Better than expected, to be honest. The movers were wonderful and the travel & move went off with barely a hitch!

    Empty bedrooms!

  2. Okay, I’m WAYYYY too ambitious! I set this huge goal that I wanted to have the house completely unpacked & totally moved in within a week. Well, I kind of knew that wasn’t going to happen, but I figured if I set a high goal, I’d at least be able to make some serious progress. At this point (almost a complete month since we moved in), the only stuff we still have in boxes is garage & storage stuff (which will stay in boxes until we need them), a single box in the nursery, a single box in the hallway closet, a single box in the living room, a couple boxes in the boys’ bedroom, and a single box in the master bedroom (which will probably stay packed until our next move since it contains the kids’ computer and we don’t have a place to set it up in this tiny apartment).
  3. The kids have been settling in nicely. It’s been wonderful to get to see my husband, even though he STILL doesn’t have overnight privileges (not even weekends!). The constant driving back and forth on the weekends makes that time very taxing, but it’s worth it.
  4. It is HOT here. HOT! Making sure everyone stays hydrated has been a challenge; I’ve noticed my blood pressure dropping from dehydration a time or two, and the toddler threw up shortly after we got here from the heat. Hydration management has become a huge priority. We keep ice in the freezer, a water jug in the fridge, and a pitcher of Gatorade in the fridge pretty much all the time. We’ve also got all of the boys their own water bottles which are now required equipment any time we leave the house!
  5. The weather here is unusual and interesting, to say the least! Last Friday there was this strange freak windstorm that blew trees down all over the place. Saturday as I was walking from my apartment office back to my apartment carrying a package we received, I tripped over one of those downed tree branches and had to call my husband on my cell phone to come and rescue me! I thought I had just tweaked my leg a bit, but now it’s a few days later and it’s still severely swollen and painful and I can’t put much weight on it. I’m going to have to see the doctor about it, much to my chagrin (I really don’t much like doctors!).
  6. My c-section has been giving me problems, just like it did with my last baby. I have an appointment with my doctor tomorrow to look at it, so hopefully I’ll get some answers soon.

Next, a few of Holly’s handy dandy tips for apartment living:

  • COMMAND HOOKS! I have these little things all over the house! I use the large hooks for heavier things like heavy picture frames or decorations. The mini hooks are great for things like hanging your keys and hanging lightweight or small items (or decorating!). The medium plastic hooks are what I use to hang up things like aprons, potholders, and brooms in the kitchen. But my favorite kind (that I only discovered this move!) are the small wire hooks. I have these on my kitchen wall and use them to hold all sorts of cooking and serving utensils. It helps to free up valuable drawer space because I don’t have much of it! The advantage to the Command Hooks (and there are also Command picture hangers as well, but I can’t say much about them because I haven’t used them) is that you don’t have to worry about filling in holes when you move out, and you can stick them anywhere – even on cabinet doors and other places that conventional nails might not be appropriate.
  • Storage is always going to be a problem in a small space, and that’s no different when you have a family as large as mine! Few apartments have sufficient storage space, and I like to keep a rather substantial pantry whenever possible. Organizing my pantry spaces is a huge project that I’ll be working on later, so stay tuned to see how I handle that one.
  • Large area rugs are a great way to protect apartment floors. I’ll never for the life of me understand why stupid builders put WHITE or OFF-WHITE carpet wall to wall in three or four bedroom apartments and houses. Most people in 3/4BR rental places have kids, I would think, and any mom knows that white or off-white carpet is about the dumbest thing you can do. Seriously, I hate rental places that do it, but they ALL do it!
  • Take inventory of the new home as soon as you arrive, and when you have children, look for things the kids can (and will!) break, damage, stain, or otherwise mess up. Have them removed. Call the apartment complex and tell them to take them out, or put them into a basement or garage for storage. Take down mini-blinds and put up curtains or something else. The cheap metal mini-blinds in most rental places are absolutely ridiculous; you can bend them just by brushing up against them the wrong way and they cost HUNDREDS of dollars to replace. Look for other things that may be problematic: sliding closet doors (tend to come out of the track if there’s no bottom track), accordion doors (depending on location, they can get easily damaged if you bump into them forgetting that they’re open), and those vertical blinds on a lot of patio doors.

I’m still getting settled in, so I’m not exactly sure when my next post will be, but I’ll try to blog a bit more consistently now that we’re finally moved.

Leave a Reply

